skip to content

Supply Chain Analytics Day

21 September 2018

University of Cologne

What are the current trends and challenges in the field of supply chain analytics? What new opportunities arise from data science and machine learning? The Supply Chain Analytics Day brings together experts from science and practice to discuss these questions.

Lectures from Science and Practice

Selected speakers from the University of Cologne will give lectures on the latest data science and machine learning methods, as well as practical application examples. 

In addition, individual companies will present successfully implemented supply chain analytics projects. 

The conference will be rounded off with a discussion followed by a get-together. Snacks and drinks will also provide an opportunity for exchange between lectures. 

Place and Date

The Supply Chain Analytics Day takes place on 21.9.2018 from 9:00 - 17:00 h in the module building Weyertal 119a, Cologne and is organised by the Supply Chain Department of the University of Cologne.

 

Programme

Innovation

How will digitalization change the supply chain of tomorrow? Which technical possibilities already exist and which are currently under development? Leading researchers from the University of Cologne present their current research projects.

Transfer

Innovation for society - how can research influence industry? We present current research projects that directly improve the performance of companies in practice. Successful examples of our cooperation with companies.

Best Practice

Many questions arise on the way to the introduction of new technologies. How should a particular problem be addressed? What are the challenges of implementation? In the following presentations, companies that have successfully completed large supply chain analytics projects present their approach.

Discussion: New applications, trends and cooperation possibilities

We conclude the event with an open discussion. Cold drinks can then be exchanged formlessly during a get together.

 

 

Target Audience

Middle management with area of responsibility in analytics and/or supply chain

Scientific staff and interested parties at the development stage in Supply Chain Analytics

Key facts

Speakers

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Thonemann

Prof. Thonemann heads the Chair of Supply Chain Management and Management Science at the University of Cologne, after teaching at Stanford University, among others. His scientific contributions have been published in all leading journals. He is also Managing Director of the Business School of the University of Cologne. 

Prof. Dr. Jörn Grahl

Prof. Grahl is Professor of Digital Transformation and Analytics at the University of Cologne. His research interests include data science and business analytics, social media network analysis, digital experimentation and electronic markets.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ketter

Prof. Ketter heads the Chair of Information Systems at the University of Cologne. He is also Director at the Institute for Energy Economics at the University of Cologne and at the Erasmus Centre for Future Energy Business at the Rotterdam School of Management. His research interests include machine learning, big data analytics and sustainability.

Prof. Dr. Fabian Sting

Prof. Sting is leading the chair for Supply Chain Strategy and Innovation at the University of Cologne. His practice-driven research was published in leading academic and managerial journals such as Harvard Business Review and MIT Sloan Management Review.

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Anna-Lena Sachs

Professor Sachs works at the Chair of Supply Chain Management and Management Science. Her research focus is Retail Analytics. Among other things, she examines how data-driven models can reduce stocks and the quantities of discarded food in the supply chain.

Felix Cahn

Felix Cahn (Dipl.-Kfm.) is currently Manager for "Corporate Digital Business Analysis" at Lekkerland AG. His previous stations were DigitasLBi GmbH (Digital Analyst), Biogas Nord AG (Key Account Manager) and the Chair for Economic Theory and Computational Economics at the University of Bielefeld (research assistant).

Christoph Lieth

Christoph Lieth is founder and owner of Cogista. Cogista's goal is to help industrial companies transform today's operations into cognitive operations. Before founding Camelot Consulting Group, he was a partner in SCM consulting. He has supported leading global companies in the transformation and digitisation of operations, is the author of numerous specialist articles and a lecturer in operations and digitisation.

Carlos M. Wimmel

Carlos M. Wimmel leads the system and process landscape in the operative area of Zentis GmbH & Co KG within the production planning and recipe administration. Since the beginning of his activities at Zentis, he has been significantly involved in digitization in the production environment. Following the successful introduction of an APS system, he is currently leading the migration to a new MES.

Dr. Johannes Antweiler

Dr. Antweiler is Managing Director of the Area for Supply Chain Management and the Chair for Supply Chain Management and Production at the University of Cologne. Among other things, he is involved in data analytics, the optimization of supply chains, particularly in production, and inventory management. He is also Managing Director of POM Prof. Tempelmeier GmbH.

Silja Salge

Silja Salge (Dipl.-Kffr.) currently works in the Corporate Product Supply Controlling department of Bayer AG, where she is responsible for Strategy & Development. She also leads a work stream for the development of innovative supply chain analytics solutions as part of a large business intelligence project at Bayer. After completing her Supply Chain Trainee Program at Bayer, she worked in Supply Chain Performance Management and SCM Americas for Bayer Diabetes Care. 

Sebastian Steinker

Sebastian Steinker works as a data scientist in business intelligence at Hamburg-based online retailer OTTO. His areas of responsibility include predictive modeling and the development and implementation of machine learning algorithms in the supply chain and logistics context at OTTO. 

Previously, he received his doctorate from the Chair of Supply Chain Management and Management Science at the University of Cologne in cooperation with Kühne Logistics University Hamburg. During his doctoral thesis he dealt with the application of statistical methods in supply chain management and published scientific articles in leading journals.

zum Inhalt springen

Supply Chain Analytics Day

21. September 2018

Universität zu Köln

 

Was sind die aktuellen Trends und Herausforderungen im Bereich der Supply Chain Analytics? Welche neuen Möglichkeiten ergeben sich durch Data Science und Machine Learning? Der Supply Chain Analytics Day bringt Expertinnen und Experten aus Wissenschaft und Praxis zusammen, um diese Fragestellungen zu diskutieren.

Vorträge aus Wissenschaft und Praxis

Ausgewählte Rednerinnen und Redner aus der Universität zu Köln halten Vorträge zu den neuesten Data Science und Machine Learning Methoden sowie zu praktischen Anwendungsbeispielen. Zusätzlich präsentieren einzelne Unternehmen erfolgreich implementierte Analytics Projekte rund um die Supply Chain. Abgerundet wird die Konferenz mit einer Diskussion und anschließendem Get Together. Auch zwischen den Vorträgen gibt es bei Snacks und Getränken die Gelegenheit zum Austausch.

Ort und Zeit

Der Supply Chain Analytics Day findet am 21.9.2018 von 9:00 – 17:00 Uhr im Modulbau Weyertal 119a, Köln statt und wird vom Supply Chain Department der Universität zu Köln organisiert.

 

Programm

Innovation

Wie verändert die Digitalisierung die Supply Chain von Morgen? Welche technischen Möglichkeiten existieren bereits und welche sind gerade in der Entwicklung? Führende Forscher der Universität zu Köln stellen ihre aktuellen Forschungsprojekte vor.

Transfer

Innovation für die Gesellschaft - wie kann die Forschung die Industrie beeinflussen? Wir stellen aktuelle Forschungsprojekte vor, die die Performance von Unternehmen in der Praxis direkt verbessern. Erfolgreiche Beispiele unserer Zusammenarbeit mit Unternehmen.

Best Practice

Auf dem Weg zur Einführung neuer Technologien stellen sich viele Fragen. Wie sollte ein bestimmtes Problem am angegangen werden? Was sind die Herausforderungen bei der Umsetzung? In den folgenden Präsentationen stellen Unternehmen, die große Supply Chain Analytics-Projekte mit Erfolg durchgeführt haben, ihre Vorgehensweise vor.

Diskussion: Neue Anwendungen, Trends und Kooperationsmöglichkeiten

Wir schließen die Veranstaltung mit einer offenen Diskussion ab. Nachfolgend gibt es bei Kaltgetränken die Möglichkeit des formlosen Austausches.

 

 

Zielgruppe

Die Veranstaltung richtet sich an Unternehmensvertreter/innen aus dem mittleren Management mit Verantwortungsbereich in Analytics und/oder Supply Chain sowie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter/innen und Interessierte am Entwicklungsstand in Supply Chain Analytics.

Eckdaten

Dozentinnen und Dozenten

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Thonemann

Prof. Thonemann leitet den Lehrstuhl für Supply Chain Management und Management Science an der Universität zu Köln, nachdem er unter anderem an der Stanford University gelehrt hat. Seine wissenschaftlichen Beiträge wurden in allen führenden Zeitschriften veröffentlicht. Darüber hinaus ist er Geschäftsführer der Business School der Universität zu Köln.

Prof. Dr. Jörn Grahl

Prof. Grahl ist Professor für Digital Transformation und Analytics an der Universität zu Köln. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen unter anderem Data Science und Business Analytics, Social Media Network Analysis, Digital Experimentation und Electronic Markets.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ketter

Prof. Ketter leitet den Lehrstuhl für Information Systems an der Universität zu Köln. Ebenso ist er Direktor am Institut für Energy Economics der Universität zu Köln und am Erasmus Centre for Future Energy Business an der Rotterdam School of Management. In seiner Forschung beschäftigt er sich unter anderem mit Machine Learning, Big Data Analytics und Sustainability.

Prof. Dr. Fabian Sting

Prof. Sting leitet den Lehrstuhl für Supply Chain Strategy und Innovation an der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität zu Köln. Seine praxisorientierten Forschungsbeiträge wurden in führenden Fachzeitschriften, wie z.B. dem Harvard Business Review und dem MIT Sloan Management Review veröffentlicht.

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Anna-Lena Sachs

Jun.-Prof. Sachs arbeitet am Lehrstuhl für Supply Chain Management und Management Science. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Retail Analytics, Bestandsmanagement und verhaltenstheoretische Ansätze. Sie untersucht unter anderem, wie durch datengetriebene Modelle Bestellentscheidungen verbessert und wie Entscheider in der Praxis am besten unterstützt werden können.

Felix Cahn

Felix Cahn (Dipl.-Kfm.) ist aktuell Manager für „Corporate Digital Business Analysis“ bei der Lekkerland AG. Seine vorherigen Stationen waren DigitasLBi GmbH (Digital Analyst), Biogas Nord AG (Key Account Manager) und der Lehrstuhl  für Economic Theory and Computational Economics an der Uni Bielefeld  (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter).

Christoph Lieth

Christoph Lieth ist Gründer und Inhaber von Cogista. Cogista hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Industrieunternehmen dabei zu unterstützen, die heutigen Operations in „Cognitive Operations“ zu transformieren. Vor seiner Gründung leitet er als Partner die SCM-Beratung der Camelot Consulting Group. Er unterstütze führende globale Unternehmen bei der Transformation und Digitalisierung der Operations, ist Autor von zahlreichen Fachartikeln und Dozent für Operations und Digitalisierung.

Carlos M. Wimmel

Carlos M. Wimmel leitet bei der Zentis GmbH & Co.KG innerhalb der Produktionsplanung und Rezepturverwaltung die System- und Prozesslandschaft im operativen Bereich. Er war seit Beginn seiner Tätigkeiten bei Zentis maßgeblich an der Digitalisierung im Produktionsumfeld beteiligt. Nach der erfolgreichen Einführung eines APS-Systems leitet er aktuell die Migration in ein neues MES.

Dr. Johannes Antweiler

Dr. Antweiler ist Geschäftsführer der Area für Supply Chain Management sowie des Lehrstuhls für Supply Chain Management und Produktion an der Universität zu Köln. Er beschäftigt sich unter anderem mit Data Analytics, der Optimierung von Supply Chains insbesondere in der Produktion sowie dem Bestandsmanagement. Er ist zudem Geschäftsführer der POM Prof. Tempelmeier GmbH. 

Silja Salge

Silja Salge (Dipl.-Kffr.) arbeitet aktuell im Bereich Corporate Product Supply Controlling der Bayer AG und verantwortet dort den Bereich Strategy & Development. Sie leitet zudem einen Work Stream zur Entwicklung Innovativer Supply Chain Analytics Lösungen im Rahmen eines großen Business Intelligence Projekts bei Bayer. Sie ist nach Abschluss ihres Supply Chain Trainee Programms bei Bayer u.A. im Supply Chain Performance Management sowie im SCM Americas für Bayer Diabetes Care tätig gewesen.

Sebastian Steinker

Sebastian Steinker arbeitet als Data Scientist im Business Intelligence beim Hamburger Online Händler OTTO. Seine Aufgabenbereiche umfassen Predictive Modeling sowie die Entwicklung und Implementierung von Machine Learning Algorithmen im Supply Chain und Logistik Kontext bei OTTO. 

Zuvor hat er am Lehrstuhl für Supply Chain Management und Management Science der Universität Köln in Kooperation mit der Kühne Logistics University Hamburg  promoviert. Während seiner Dissertation hat er sich mit der Anwendung statistischer Methoden im Supply Chain Management beschäftigt und wissenschaftliche Beiträge in führenden Zeitschriften veröffentlicht.